Middle School Religion

Grade 6

Although faith and prayer is practiced throughout the day, the focus of sixth grade Religion is on:
  • scripture and the Bible
  • Feast Days
  • Seasons of the Church
  • monthly Mass
  • and a Bible blessing ceremony

Grades 7 & 8

Religion for the 7th grade focuses on the life and works of Jesus. Faith is developed through a spiral curriculum based on the four pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.  The four pillars of Catholic doctrine are: What Catholics Believe, How Catholics Worship, How Catholics Live, & How Catholics Pray. The four pillars are taught in every unit, every year. 

 By the end of the elementary years, students will have knowledge of their Catholic tradition and a common language of faith. Students are taught an appreciation for the Mass & Sacraments as well as moral teachings of the Church. Students are challenged to respond to the Gospel message of Christian love, peace, and social justice in age -appropriate ways. Students are also exposed to a variety of prayer experiences at each level. All of the text is Scripture-based.